急診部門的更好決策

emergency_department.JPG

無論您稱其為僵局還是人滿為患,全國各地的急診部門都在尋求每天安全而有效地為越來越多的患者提供服務的方法。在邁阿密,南佛羅里達州浸信會衛生局(BHSF)通過建立準確的急診室計算機模型,調查了急診室(ED)在其一家醫院就診的人數的影響。使用FlexSim HC創建的模型使他們能夠測試三個重要的“假設”方案,並查看潛在變化的影響。

目標

  • 減少患者的住院時間(LOS)

  • 減少提供者時間

  • 優化人員配備時間

工藝流程

BHSF醫院的快速護理病房(RCU)是一個隔離的病房,其流程簡化,使醫生領導的團隊能夠在不犧牲護理質量的情況下幫助更多的病人,並為其他病情較重的病人騰出了其他地方的床位。測試該部門在整個部門中的運作情況。 BHSF將RCU方案插入其模型中,以針對實際數據和真實世界的可變性對其進行測試。

根據醫院提議的快速評估(REV),醫生將儘早評估患者並開始接受治療。 BHSF在他們的模型中測試了這種情況。

BHSF使用他們的模型來解決問題:什麼是最佳的人員配備計劃?首先,他們從急診室普查和護士/患者比率中收集數據,以得出每小時的最佳人員配置水平。他們將這些信息插入模型,並使用FlexSim HC的可視儀表板來不斷驗證對關鍵患者護理指標的影響。 BHSF甚至能夠評估並提出多種人員配置方案,以涵蓋各種預算限制。

結果

  • 快速護理病房(RCU)將門診時間降低了8%的視力患者

  • RCU使低視力患者的LOS降低27%

  • 快速評估(REV)將提供者的上門時間減少了46%

  • 為護士和醫師提供最佳人員配備的能力

在pdf文件中查看更多>

Better Decisions in Emergency Department

Whether you call it gridlock or overcrowding, emergency departments around the country are looking for ways to safely yet efficiently serve a growing number of patients each day. In Miami, Baptist Health South Florida (BHSF) investigated the impact of rising emergency department (ED) visits at one of their hospitals by building an accurate computer model of the ED. The model, created using FlexSim HC, allowed them to test three important “what if” scenarios and see the impact of potential changes.

Objectives

  • Reduce patient Length of Stay (LOS)

  • Reduce Door to Provider time

  • Optimize staffing hours

Processes

The Rapid Care Unit (RCU) at BHSF’s hospital, a segregated unit, has a streamlined process, enabling a physician-led team to help more patients without sacrificing care quality—and free up bed space elsewhere for more severe patients. To test how well the unit works within the entire department. BHSF plugged the RCU scenario into their model to test it against actual data and real-world variability.

Under a proposed Rapid Evaluation (REV) at the hospital, a physician would evaluate a patient early on and get their orders started. BHSF tested this scenario in their model.

BHSF used their model to solve the problem: What’s the best staffing plan?. First, they gathered data from the ED census and nurse-topatient ratio to come up with optimal staffing levels each hour. They plugged this information into the model and used FlexSim HC’s visual dashboard to continually validate the impact on critical patient care metrics. BHSF was even able to evaluate and present multiple staffing scenarios to cover a variety of budget constraints.

Results

  • Decreased Door to Provider time lower acuity patients by 8% with Rapid Care Unit (RCU)

  • Decreased LOS for lower acuity patients by 27% with RCU

  • Decreased Door to Provider time by 46% with Rapid Evaluation (REV)

  • Ability to provide optimal staffing levels for nurses and physicians

see more in pdf file >

Advent2Labs_Logo_300dpi.png
  • Facebook
Facebook
(65) 62089575
(65)9101 6027
20 Kallang Avenue,
Level 6, Pico Creative Centre
SIngapore 339411
Facebook